What Is The Episcopal Church?

The Episcopal Church owes its foundation to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ; its faith and order are those of the earliest undivided Christian church.

• It is often called the “bridge church” because it is a blending of Evangelical/Protestant and Roman Catholic traditions in which Christians of both practices may find a home where each heritage enriches the other.
• It focuses on the authority of the Holy Spirit and the proclamation of the Word of God.
• It preserves the ancient faith and sacraments and the historic ministry with Bishops as its chief pastors.
• It offers a thoughtful approach to religion. It believes faith involves reason as well as emotion.
• Its doctrine is designed to lead you to, not dictate, the response to God’s continuing revelation in our daily lives.
• Its focus is on God’s unconditional love for us and the invitation to respond to Him in mature freedom, in thanksgiving and in joyous loving devotion. It encourages active participation by each member in accordance with their spiritual gifts.

To access the national church website click HERE.

Our Doctrine
Conforms to three criteria:
• Scripture
• Reason
• Tradition

We believe in:
• One God; the Father Almighty who creates us and all things, seen and unseen.
• God’s only Son, Christ Jesus, who redeems us from our sin and death.
• The Holy Spirit who renews and directs us as the adopted children of God.
• The Holy Scriptures to be the inspired Word of God and to contain all things necessary for our salvation.
• The affirmation of salvation, through belief in Jesus Christ, as the end of our separation from God and as the beginning of a new relationship with God and one another.

What are Sacraments?
Sacraments are the “outward and visible signs of inward and spiritual grace.”

Grace is God’s love freely given to us for forgiveness and renewal.

Holy Baptism
A pledge of repentance and trust in Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior. We are adopted as God’s Children and become members of Christ’s Body, the Church.

Holy Eucharist
We share bread and wine as remembrance of Christ’s life, death and resurrection until His coming again. We receive forgiveness of our sins, strengthening our union with Christ and one another.

Other Sacraments are:
Confirmation, Holy Matrimony, Reconciliation of a Penitent, Ministration to the Sick and Ordination.